How will the street feel about today’s “stress test”?

Try as I might, I just haven’t been able to get myself over to this forum on a more regular basis. As most know, my main loyalties are with my Let’$ Talk Money site at EAM, which has been absolutely bustling with activity.

And since I’ve received lots of notes from readers here accusing me of just trying to drum-up business on this site for my EAM site, where there is a paid membership — let me just point out that we capped the membership over there a while back due to the IRC chat feature only being able to handle a couple of hundred participants per session. That doesn’t mean that somewhere down the road I won’t start steering people that way. I’ll do completely unapologetically, as there’s no shame in charging for what I consider to be one of the best sites on the Web.

And, yes, although I don’t allow responses to appear on this site, because I don’t have the time to monitor all the messages in a timely manner, I do try to read as many of your messages as time allows. The reason I don’t allow responses to appear automatically, is because, since I am not here on a regular basis, I won’t be able to monitor in a timely manner those who could maliciously be hyping or dissing a position for their own personal greed. As you know, my motto is to never disclose my own personal positions, and to encourage each and every investor to do their own due diligence.

Enough on that — let’s take a look at where we are this early Friday morning:

The futures are a little below fair value, down by about 20 points.

We’re expecting earnings from Ford and Honeywell later this morning.

Crude oil is up by 34 cents.

Gold is back above the 900 level at 909.70.

And all eyes on the street are glued to see what officials have to say about the “stress test,” particularly whether it means some banks may need another shot in the arm of capital from the Treasury.

Today’s news should be particularly interesting, coming on the heels of analysts at Keefe, Bruyette and Woods saying U.S. banks, such as JPMorgan Chase, Wells Fargo and Bank of America may need to raise $1 trillion of capital.

New to my due diligence list this week has been ANR and eBay.

Just remember the usual disclaimer: Don’t base any of your investment decisions on anything you read here. Do your own due diligence, or at least enough research to hire the right professional to do it for you.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

